Water Marbling ~ My First Attempt

I have been wanting to give water marbling a try for awhile now.  I finally decided to just go ahead and do it. It was as messy as I thought it would be lol. But it didn’t turn out too bad for my first try. Definitely need to improve a bit on some things but overall I was pretty happy with the results. I took a few pics during the process but not many…mostly just to document the mess lol.

Picture 106

Thank goodness for tape lol. Most of this peels off!

Picture 108

See, not much to clean off!

Now for the results! Drum roll lol…….

Watermarble1

Left hand

watermarble2

Right hand

I started with a base coat of Sally Hansen White On on my nails just to help the colors appear brighter. I figured this out after trying a couple of nails without the white underneath and they looked very blah. I know not a very technical term but the best one to express how I thought they looked lol. Once the white dried I then taped all around my nails. This is one place I need a little improvement on as you can see in the pictures. On a few of the nails I taped over the white a little bit so I ended up with white along the edges of a few nails. Maybe I should have used some white in the design too and then it would have just looked like it belonged there! Oh well, live and learn. I liked the combination of colors that I used…. Sally Hansen Insta-Dri in Blue -Away, Blue Streak and Brisk Blue and Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in Mint Sorbet. If you want to try water marbling just check out YouTube and you will find an abundance of videos on the subject. I studied many of them before I actually got up the nerve to give it a try! All in all I was pretty happy with how they turned out and I’m sure if I keep trying my technique will improve lol.

Oh and we can’t forget the final mess to clean up lol…..

Picture 107

4 thoughts on “Water Marbling ~ My First Attempt

Leave a Reply

