April Fool’s Day ~ Spring Thaw Nail Art Challenge

This theme I had a bit of trouble with. What exactly do you do for April Fool’s Day nails? April Fool’s always bring to mind the figure of a court jester, so I went with that as an idea and thought I would do nails that had the diamond pattern you see on a lot of jesters or harlequins. I was not real happy with the way these turned out. Some of it had to do with the fact that I was tired when I was doing them and that was probably the cause of everything going rather crooked lol. And they just didn’t turn out how I had pictured. Have you ever had something simple pictured in your mind but it just doesn’t translate well to your nails. This was one of those times. I’m sure everyone has those moments. This was one of mine lol. They aren’t horrible but they aren’t great either.

For these I started with my base coat followed by a coat of Pure Ice Silver Mercedes. After allowing that to dry completely, I marked off the pattern with striping tape and filled in the diamond shapes with SinfulColors in Folly, Blue By You, Let’s Talk, and Gorgeous. Over the design I put a coat of China Glaze Fairy Dust for some sparkle and outlined where the striping tape was with SinfulColors Fashionista Nail Art polish which is a silver glitter. As always, topped it off with a coat of HK Girl top coat. I added a picture with flash to get more of the Fairy Dust to show up. I haven’t had to do that with the new camera yet but I could just not get it to show up well without using it. It wanted to hide!

Leave a Reply

