SquareHue

Wow I forgot all about posting these lol.  In January I came across an offer to try your first SquareHue monthly subscription box for free…just pay $5 for shipping. So I thought why not give it a try. I had heard good things about the SquareHue boxes. Plus I have been looking to find another monthly polish subscription box that has the “normal” full size polishes ever since the fiasco with that other polish subscription box last year lol. Since I forgot I will just combine February and March into one, so this will be a rather long post!

FirstSquareHue214-1 FirstSquareHue214-2

February ~ Passport Collection: Tokyo

So my first box arrived in February with their Passport Collection Tokyo. I love the shape of their bottles and February’s colors were awesome. The polishes are all named for different shopping/entertainment districts in Tokyo. Roppongi is a sheer lime green polish with iridescent glitter and gold shimmer. I do not wear a lot of green and I am not usually a big fan of green polish but this is very pretty. Because it is so sheer I started with SinfulColors Snow Me White as a base and then 2 coats of Roppongi to better show you the color of this polish. Next is Shibuya, a fuchsia microglitter that also seems to have a duochrome that shifts fromefuchsia to violet depending on the light. And then there is Ginza, a very pretty bright blue shimmer polish. For both Shibuya and Ginza I used 2 coats of polish. All are topped with HK Girl top coat.

Roppongi

Shibuya

Ginza

March ~ The Passport Collection: Paris

SHMarch2014-1 SHMarch2014-2

The them for SquareHue’s March box was Paris of their Passport Collection. The polishes in this box were sheer nude shades. The colors are very pretty and I don’t have a lot of these kind of shades, so it was a nice one for me to get.  As I said these were all pretty sheer and for the swatches I used 3 coats of each polish.  The first polish I have is Champs Elysees, a sheer pale pistachio green shimmer. It’s pretty but very very light. Next is Notre Dame, an off white high gloss creme. And them there is Arc de Triomphe, which is my favorite of the 3 polishes. This polish is a nude with a subtle pink shimmer running through it. Of course that means it is very difficult to photograph! i tried as best as I could to capture that shimmer but it really doesn’t do it justice! Also for each of the months I changed what I took pics of by a little…do you prefer the bottle shot, a macro of the polish on my nail or would you want me to do both? Just let me know in the comments if you have a preference!

Champs Elysees

Notre Dame

Arc de Triomphe

I did notice a lot of people complaining about how SquareHue has been sending a lot of polishes that are dupes of other month’s polishes. I will definitely be keeping an eye on that. One of the complaints was that there have been a lot of green polishes in the boxes. This is only my second box and I now have 2 greens from SquareHue lol.  All in all I really like SquareHue. The polishes are beautiful and the formulas are great so far. And I love the bottle shape and you know how important that is LOL!  Are you a SquareHue subscriber? If so, what are your thoughts and how do you like them? If not, go check them out. You get 3 full size polishes (15ml/.5 fl. oz.) every month for 14.99 + 5.00 shipping for a total of $19.99/month. That’s the same price as Julep’s subscription and you get more polish. Julep’s full size is 8ml/.27 fl. oz. You can find out more on their website: SquareHue

Leave a Reply

