#Summernorules Nail Challenge ~ Getting Caught Up!

I am wayyy behind in posting my nails for the #summernorules nail challenge! So I am going to catch up all in one post. I had few things going on lately that just put me a bit behind.  I had only gotten the first day’s nails posted on the blog, so I have 4 to show you today!

The first are my National Pink Day nails. For this I went with Serum No 5 I Gleam In Pink, a hot pink neon glow in the dark polish. And wow does it glow! This is one of my first polishes from Serum No. 5. I purchased 2 others as well and hope to get them on the blog soon. This is a very bright neon pink but my camera didn’t quite capture the color. I was hoping to have some sunlight to try and capture the color but the sun was in hiding! I was a bit unsure of how capturing the glow in the dark part would go but I was pleasantly surprised. This polish has such an awesome orange glow to it and my camera did great capturing it! This polish had a semi textured finish when it dried but applying top coat made it shiny.  This is a base coat, 2 coats of I Gleam In Pink and 2 coats of HK Girl top coat.

The next theme of the challenge was Strawberries. Strawberries in my opinion are some of the easier nail art to do. It looks more complicated than it really is, if you know what I mean. After applying a base coat, I used Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Racey Rouge which is fairly sheer and I ended up using 3-4 thin coats to get it opaque. For the leaves of the strawberries I used SquareHue Leblon, an emerald green shimmer polish  from their Passport Collection: Rio. And finally for the strawberry seeds I used Zoya Codie, a blackened espresso brown creme and the smallest dotting tool I have.

Next up is Favorite Summer Glitter. Hmmm asking me for my favorite glitter, summer or otherwise is difficult lol. I love glitter and have lots and lots of glitter polishes. Lately I have been using a lot of Loaded Lacquer’s Apparition, a clear base with ghostly transparent white hex, holographic black, matte black and white, iridescent and golden hex glitters. I layered this over 2 coats of OPI Hey Baby, a bright pink creme  from the Gwen Stefani  collection. I then topped it off with 2 coats of HK Girl top coat.

And finally to catch me all up is Canada Day. I suck at painting maple leaves lol. So to avoid further frustration I just went with the red and white of the Canadian flag. I used 2 coat of Zoya America on my pinkie, middle and index fingers. Then 2 coats of Zoya Purity on my ring finger and thumb and used Zoya Sooki to stamp a random abstract pattern from Cheeky plate CH16. I really liked that stamp and with have to revisit it again sometime. It is very forgiving of mistakes lol. I topped it all off with HK Girl top coat. Not bad for quick and simple!

And there I am all caught up with the challenge on the blog! YAY lol!! The next ones will be for the 4th of July. See you then!

2 thoughts on “#Summernorules Nail Challenge ~ Getting Caught Up!

  1. You really must tell me how you got that glow in the dark Serum polish to shine so brightly (and then, of course, how you captured it.) I have a few of their glow in the dark polishes, and I just CAN’T capture them in photos (although one of them, a white called Pure Glow Getter, doesn’t really have a lot of oomph to begin with…)

    1. This polish has a really great glow to it. I have another one that doesn’t glow as well as this one. My camera has a scene mode with lots of different options and 3 of the options are night ones. I used a handheld night shot mode. I just charged the polish under my desk light and then went into the small bathroom we have upstairs(it has no windows), shut the door and took pictures using that mode. They turned out really great with little effort on my part….I was really surprised. I had never tried to take glow in the dark pictures before this.

Leave a Reply

