The 31 Day Nail Art Challenge 2014

31daychallenge

Last September I participated in the 31 Day Nail Art Challenge hosted by Sarah of Chalkboard Nails. It was the first challenge of that kind that I had ever undertaken and even though my mother had a very bad stroke right after the challenge got started, I still managed to stick it out and finish it. So I am going to participate again this year. It seems to have become a tradition…this is the 4th year she has run it in September. Hopefully this year will be much less eventful for me although I do think that helped me get through those first few weeks after my mother’s stroke. Kind of an escape from everything for a little while each day. Now on to Day 1 nails….

Day 1 ~ Red

The challenge is broken up into 3 different categories: Colors, Styles, and Inspired By. The first set of prompts are Colors and Day I is red. For this look I started with my base coat followed by 2 coats of Loaded Lacquer Coconut from her Jiggles collection. When that dried I used the largest straights nail vinyls from NailVinyls.com, one on each side of each nail. I then painted down the center with Nails Inc. the Boltons,  a deep satin red polish. I then removed the nail vinyls and used an It’s So Easy Stripe Rite striping polish in silver on each side of the red. With a dotting tool I added dots to Coconut with Sinful Colors Black On Black. I topped all my nails with a coat of Glisten & Glow HK Girl top coat.

Leave a Reply

