31 Day Nail Art Challenge Day 27 ~ Inspired By Artwork

This day in the 31 Day Nail Art Challenge I find to be one of the most challenging! Even though there is an abundance of beautiful artwork out there to choose from, there isn’t always a lot that I feel I would be able to recreate on my nails! My artistic ability is rather limited!!! So I try to search for artwork that is easy to replicate. Those in that category are not one that I am necessarily drawn to, things like abstract, cubism, For this challenge I chose to recreate some of the artwork of Mark Rothko. Mark Rothko was an American painter of Russian Jewish decent and is generally identified as an Abstract Expressionist. I chose 5 of his paintings to recreate on each of my nails.

After applying my base coat I used the following:

Thumb: Sinful Colors Endless Blue with a very thin, sheer coat of Maybelline Color Show Sapphire Siren layered over it and then using a sponge applicator from an eyeshadow compact, I sponged on 2 squares of OPI 4 in the Morning, a black satin polish.

Index finger: 2 coats of OPI 4 in the Morning with a stripe of Zoya America

Middle finger: I made a small section of 2 coats of Sinful Colors Dream On near the cuticle then 2 coats of OPI 4 in the Morning on the rest of the nail.

Ring finger: Starting from the cuticle end of my nail, I used 2 coats of OPI 4 in the Morning on about two thirds of my nail and then 2 coats of Revlon Timeless on the rest of the nail.

Pinkie: I started with 2 coats of Sinful Colors My Turn over the whole nail. After that was dry I sponged a large square of L.A. Colors Energy Source on the cuticle end of my nail and a small rectangle of Maybelline Color Show Sapphire Siren on the other end.

To each of my nails I added a coat of Revlon Matte Top Coat.

Now I think that I did a fairly good job of recreating the artwork, but I knew that when I posted it to Instagram that it would not be a real popular nail look lol. I guess you have made it to the big time when you start getting negative comments!?!?!? LOL And I expected that some people at least would not appreciate them….they really aren’t what you would call “pretty”. But it would be nice if people would take the time to READ the caption and then maybe search for the artwork and see if it was a good representation of said artwork. But then again I do know that reading is a lost art to some people these days lol, especially to a good majority of the younger generation. And I did not say all of them. There are also a lot out there that do take the time to read and research, or even know without having to search! Just venting a little lol. I wasn’t really too upset when I received what amounted to “horrible” in a comment. I actually found it rather amusing at the time. Especially since I thought I did a pretty good job and they obviously were just commenting on how they looked. I just don’t understand why people feel the need to make negative comments. Some need to follow the ages old advice of “if you have nothing nice to say, don’t say anything at all”. And yes I just channeled my mother LOL!!! Hopefully that rambling made some amount of sense!!!

 

Leave a Reply

