An Update

Hi everyone! I thought I would give you all an update on where I have been. The last few months have been very rough. Just when you think things cannot get any worse, they do. I had told you about my mother having a stroke and then finding out she had lung cancer while she was in the hospital after the stroke. It seemed like every time she went to the doctor after that it was always worse news. She had radiation that was supposed to take care of the tumor and it didn’t work. Then they discovered that it was growing and pressing on her pulmonary artery. Too close to her heart for surgery even if she had been in any condition to have surgery. So then she decided to try chemotherapy after she had originally said she didn’t want it. The day after her second chemotherapy treatment she fell and shattered her hip. According to the doctors even a healthy person who breaks their hip and has it go untreated would succumb to complications after about a month. So basically they had to try and do something even though she was high risk for surgery. During surgery she went into cardiac arrest and they had to revive her. Unfortunately too much time had gone by and she was left with only 10% brain activity. Her surgery was on a Friday and on the following Wednesday they removed her from life support. Given her condition and the fact that she had lung cancer and also COPD they said that it would probably only be a few minutes. Well 10 days later she finally decided it was time to leave. that was  very rough 10 days and it was the Saturday after Thanksgiving. To say the holidays were rough is an understatement.  My mother has always been the center of our family and went all out for holidays. Being the oldest of 3 children and the one who lives the closest to my parents it kind of falls to me to do the holidays. Especially since my brother lives out of state and my sister works. So I just tried to focus on getting through the holidays.

I hope to resume some semblance of normalcy on the blog soon. With all I was dealing with I have also had a cold twice in the last month. So as soon as I recover from this latest round I will be back in business here! I thank you all for your patience and I am looking forward to getting back into the swing of things. I hope all of you had a great holiday season and are enjoying the start of a new year! I can only hope that 2015 is better because I really can’t imagine worse!

37 thoughts on “An Update

  1. I am so utterly sorry for your loss. My mother died a few years ago, and there is no going back to the person I was before she died…a big piece of me is gone. Please know of all my prayers, thoughts, and well-wishes for you and your family.

  2. I’m so sorry for your loss. You’re so strong to write this on here and let us all in on what you’ve gone through. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. May 2015 bring you nothing but the best.

  3. I’m so sorry you have lost your mother. I work in the ICUs in a hospital and helping families through the holidays was such a big part of my job the past couple months. There is never a good time but somehow the holidays just make it that much worse. Things will be here when you are ready again ❤

    1. Thank you Shelby. My mother was in the ICU for a few days. All the people who worked there were amazing. You have such a hard job. I don’t think I could ever do it. Yes it is never easy but having it happen in the midst of the holidays made it seem so much worse.

  4. I am very sorry for your loss. Time will make it more bearable, but it will be different always now. Its good that you will be trying to get back to your routine. I wish you nothing but the best & a very Happy & Healthy 2015 !!

  5. Thoughts and interweb hugs for you during this time. Positive spirit finger vibes also for a phenomenal 2015 – you’ve gained a shining star to lead you through it 😉

  6. Hi Denise, Sorry to hear about your Mom. I was just thinking about you the other day and wondering if you were OK since I hadn’t seen or heard from you in a while. Hang in there. Things are bound to get better. Now we just have to get through this cold spell!! /Charlie

  7. Lots of love from someone you don’t know.
    Not sure it will mean anything to you, but I hope it can somehow make you feel a teeny tiny bit of warmth.
    I hope you’ll have lots of occasions to rejoice in the coming year. ❤

  8. Oh, that’s so miserable – I’m sorry to hear you’ve had such a bad go of it. 2014 was not a good year for me either in a very similar way. Sending you lots of good, healing thoughts.

  9. I am so sorry that you have had to endure one blow after another. I am sorry for your loss. You have an angel looking out for you always. I’m sure you did everything humanly possible to take care of your mother, so if you have any doubts or any “what ifs”, you did the best you could. Holidays are tough, just make sure you take the time to grieve and have support around you. I know that words can not heal, but just know that my thoughts are with you.

    1. Thank you Michelle. It has been quite an emotional rollercoaster for my family the last 16 months or so.Just could never imagine so many bad things happening to one person in such a short span of time. i’m sure doubts and what ifs accompany most situations like this and I am just trying to take things one day at a time.

  10. Really sorry for your loss. I can’t imagine the pain you must be going through. I hope that you can find some normalcy in your life and comfort knowing that there are a lot of people who care about you.

Leave a Reply

