February 2015 Julep Maven Box

Today I have my February 2015 Julep Maven Box. Lately I have not gotten many of my Julep boxes. As I have said before, I have a love/hate relationship with Julep. They have beautiful polishes but I am not always a fan of their formulas. A lot of them seem to take forever to dry for me even when using a quick dry top coat. I’m also not a fan of the size of their polishes. They are very small compared to other polishes. I did choose to get February’s box since it had an extra polish included as a special gift for Valentine’s Day. I also received January’s box but only because with the normal stress of the holidays and the added extra of my mother dying, I completely and totally forgot about skipping it! I didn’t get a post made here but I believe I did post some pics of the January polishes on my Instagram.  A couple of this month’s polishes seem to give my camera fits and I just could not get a good picture, so I will apologize in advance. I guess my camera didn’t like the colors or maybe the finish on the one! All swatches are two coats of polish and topped with KBShimmer Clearly On Top quick dry top coat when there was a top coat used.

I received the following polishes from their Afterglow Collection:

Becky, an oil slick duochrome silk. This has a shimmery almost matte finish. The formula was good and I didn’t really have any issues. I don’t think my camera is fond of dark purply shades or it didn’t like this finish because I could just not get s good picture of this at all! But here they are, one taken with the silk finish and another using a top coat. The picture with the top coat seemed to photograph a little better.

 

Carla, a tea rose creme polish. Very pretty pale pink, almost too pale for my skin. Another good formula with no issues.

JulepCarla

 

 

Colton, a black iris creme polish. This color is a very deep purple that looks almost black. Another polish with a good formula and no issues. This one did not want to photograph well either. Both of the darker colors in this box photographed on the fuzzy side. I took a lot of pics and just could not get it to cooperate, so this is the best of the bunch. I just gave up lol!

JulepColton

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hartleigh, a holographic heart glitter top coat. This is the special Valentine’s Day gift and it is beautiful! Went on very nice with little to no fishing needed. I love it! I layered it over Carla in the pictures.

 

If you are interested in subscribing to Julep, you can do so here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

