Mod Lacquer

Today I have some polishes from Mod Lacquer for you. I received these polishes from Mod Lacquer to review and swatch for you. Mod Lacquer has been on my wish list for awhile(Along with many other indie brands! Too many wonderful indies out there and not enough funds to get them all!!). I was very excited to be contacted by Jennifer, the creator of Mod Lacquer and informed that I would be receiving a package of her polishes to review! I received 5 polishes, 3 minis and 2 full size polishes. My first impression upon opening them was WOW! 4 of the 5 polishes are from her Electrified Collection and are neons, some of my most favorite types of polish. And the other one is a wonderful cream with micro fine holographic glitter, another favorite!!! Ok enough of the teasers and on to the polish!!!

ModLacquerNailMail

First up is the non neon polish that I received. This is Orchid Chiffon from her Mid-Century Mod Collection and it is gorgeous. It’s a beautiful pinkish purple polish with a micro fine holographic glitter that gives it a subtle shimmer. The formula was excellent and I had no issues at all. This is 2 coats topped with a coat of Glisten & Glow HK Girl top coat. SInce the shimmer is rather subtle I had a tough time trying to  capture it in the pictures but I think I managed to give you a decent idea of how it looks! This was a full size polish – 12ml.

 

Now onto the neon polishes! Now we all know that neon formulas are usually a bit tricky. They tend to dry fast and a lot of times can be streaky and gloppy. Now these do tend to dry faster than most polishes but they are a bit easier than most neons I have used. Usually you cannot overwork neon polishes at all but I was able to work with these a little bit, but don’t overdo it or you will be taking off more polish than you are putting on. That is just the nature of the neon formula in my experience, some are just better than others. And these are some of the good ones!!! Some neon polishes also require white undies but I didn’t find the need for that with these.

This is Animate, a shocking wild watermelon neon polish from the Electrified Collection. This color is awesome! So pretty and bright. This polish was also full size – 12ml. This is 2 coats topped with HK Girl top coat.

 

ModLacquerAnimate

Next up is Motivate, a hot neon magenta polish. This is another super bright color. I just love bright neon colors and of course this is pink shade and one of my favorite colors! This is 2 coats topped with HK Girl top coat. This is a mini – 4ml.

ModLacquerMotivate

This is Prime, a bright neon blue polish. Now I find that the neon blues while they are bright, they are usually not eye searingly bright lol. This is a very pretty blue and I didn’t have any staining issues. There are a lot of blues out there that will give  you a lovely stain long after the polish is gone….no worries here! Again this is 2 coats topped with HK Girl top coat. Also a mini- 4ml.

ModLacquerPrime

And finally I have Stunned, a super bright neon green that made my camera really freak out!!! This is one of the few shades of green that I like. The formula on this one didn’t really seem any different from the others except maybe a little more sheer and I found that I needed 3 coats to get the same look as the others, which was no big deal to me when the polishes are ones that tend to dry faster. And again topped with HK Girl top coat. And also another mini – 4ml.

ModLacquerStunned

My overall impression??? I need more!!! These are some really great polishes and I would highly recommend them! You can purchase them at www.modlacquer.com

4 thoughts on “Mod Lacquer

  1. wow, they are bright, and when you said about the need for white undies at times, i was confused for a second..lol

Leave a Reply

